Journey to Kazakhstan

All about my international adoption from Kazakhstan

Archive for August 28, 2007

All apostilled up and no place to go

Well, last Friday I went downtown to get all of my documents apostilled and it was a lot faster and easier than I thought it would be.  It took all of about 30 minutes for them to apostille 28 documents.  I also found out that Staples is the place to go if you want color copies.  Fedex/Kinko’s costs $1.00 per color copy and Staples is only $.49.  So, note to all other people preparing your dossiers, half off at Staples.  I have to go back there actually and get color copies (5 each) of all 28 individual apostilles.  So, that is 28 X 5 X $.49 for nearly $70.00.  If you went to Kinko’s you would be spending $140.00. 

I spoke to several people on my adoption agency’s listserv group recently and had two tell me stories where they were referred older children only to find out before they left for Kazakhstan that they were unavailable and had already been adopted.  They eventually went to Kazakhstan and adopted other children but did not necessarily get a child of the age or sex as the original referred child.  The whole process of adoption is like trying to hold water in your hands – there is nothing solid you can hang on to. 

On a brighter note, I got my IRS refund check so now I have enough $$$ to cover the next installment that has to go with my finished dossier at the end of September.  I have been crunching the numbers recently and have come to the conclusion that I should be fine up until the point where I have to travel and then I might have to dip into my emergency reserve fund for the final amount that I have to take with me to Kazakhstan. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.